Specialist palliative care

Go to Caresearch for great information on continuing professional development, including conferences, short courses, university courses and web-based courses and much more. Also Program of Experience in the Palliative Approach (PEPA) is a great option offering no cost, supervised clinical placements in specialist palliative care services.

Look through PCC4U (Palliative Care Curriculum for Undergraduates), which promotes inclusion of palliative care education as an integral part of all medical, nursing, and allied health undergraduate and entry to practice training, and ongoing professional development.

PCC4U has three focus topics (multidisciplinary care, Aboriginal populations, and caring for children) over four modules (Principles, Communication, Assessment, and Optimisation).

PCC4U may not yet be part of a course near you, it nevertheless is a great learning resource.

Grampians region professional development program

Grampians region professional development program aims to improve opportunities for career progression for palliative care staff in the Grampians region to improve practitioner knowledge, skills and confidence.  In so doing, the program primarily develops and retains the existing workforce by providing career pathways and secondly grows the workforce by complementing recruitment and selection of new practitioners.

Contact us for an Application for Career Progression form or email an expression of interest to gpalcareconsort@gmail.com if you wish to discuss your professional development options with us.

The palliative approach

Whether you work in aged care, acute or primary care, chances are you’ll find yourself at some stage caring for someone with a terminal illness. End of Life Directions for Aged Care (ELDAC) have designed training videos for the aged care sector, both residential and community. This training is designed to help you:

  • Module 1: Recognise End of Life
  • Module 2: Assess Palliative Care Needs
  • Module 3: Work Together
  • Module 4: Manage Dying
  • Module 5: Organisational Support

These online training modules are accredited and will enable you to accrue Continuing Professional Development (CPD) points.

Note:  The Aged Care Diversity framework was launched in December 2017. It sets out the actions we can take to make sure aged care services meet the needs of people from diverse backgrounds. It sees a role for the Australian Government, peak organisations, representative groups, service providers, consumers and carers.

Caresearch also provides continuing professional development in the palliative approach for any care setting.  The training covers five modules:

  • Module One: Finding Evidence Part 1
  • Module Two: Finding Evidence Part 2
  • Module Three: Searching the Web
  • Module Four: Residential Aged Care
  • Module Five: Dementia.

This training could help in practice for your Continuing Professional Development (CPD) requirements.


See also: